Durbar Mahila Samanwaya Committee


1st State Convention of unorganized women labour in West Bengal

DMSC, 21.02.11: Durbar Mahila Samanwaya Committee is an organization of marginalized working women operating in states of West Bengal, Odisha, Bihar and Jharkhand.  We have been engaged in the development work since last 15 years centering with special focus on collectivization and empowerment and ownership building of marginalized women communities as a means to achieve to success. 

DMSC organized a convention for the unorganized women labour on 21st February 2011 at Mahajati Sadan auditorium, Kolkata.
The program was inaugurated by the former Co- operative Minister Mr. Saral Deb by lighting of lamps followed by a welcoming song. The guests were felicitated with flowers and Durbar’s memento.
Mr. Saral Deb in his speech thanked and appreciated Durbar’s initiative to start and organize such a platform for unorganized women workers.
A charter of demand with 19 demands was also prepared and then produced by the unorganized groups to deliver it to the Political parties, Trade Union and policy makers of the country.
 In the convention a State Level Steering Committee was formed where the conveners were Ms. Bharati Dey from Durbar Mahila Samanwaya Committee, Mr. Rabindra Nath Chakraborty from Motor Vehicles Worker’s Union and Mr. Souman Roy from All India Worker’s Forum.
In these convention representatives from different unorganized sectors including domestic worker, women construction worker, fisher women, jari and cracker worker, hawker, women agricultural labour, sex worker, and tribal worker from Amlasole were present. Beside them representatives from Truckers union, Hawker Union and Motor workers Union was also took part in the convention. All together 1000 representatives belonging to 35 unorganised labour union/organization attended and supported the charter of demand which is put in the annexure.
The convention was also attended by National Level Trade Union like AICCTU, CITU etc. voiced their support in favour of demands. Anchita Ghatak from Parichiti, a domestic workers association, Chitta Mondal from Action Aid,Amitava Mitra and Ravindra Nath Chakraborty from goods transport workmen union, Arpita Mitra Roy from CITU, Shankar Ghosh from Bharatiya Mojdur Morcha, Soumen Roy from All India Worker’s Forum, Ritesh Kumar from We Are The Common People enriched the program with their valuable speech.
Radha Singha from Manabh Seva Samiti, Bihar, Rupesh Kumar from Bihar Oshonghothita Majdur Sangha, Kalyan Anand from Krishok Sanghathan, odisha, Prabhash Murah from Amlasole Birsha Munda Gram Unayan Samiti were also present in the program.



New Page 1